Tony Bartley’s medals to be auctioned

I was interested to read this news story today (below) about Tony Bartley’s wartime medals. It takes me back to 2003 when I was researching and ghost writing RUTH ELLIS MY SISTER’S SECRET LIFE. I ended up in Westerham one day where I met Arthur Waterhouse. He was the chef, between 1945 – 1950, at the White Hart Hotel in Brasted where a copy of the photograph (below) of Tony Bartley and Deborah Kerr was hanging in the bar. The White Hart was a regular watering hole for dignitaries whose names appeared in the Visitors Book there including Prince Paul of Greece, the then Prince Hussein of Jordan and Lord Goddard. During the war George Ellis was a regular at the hotel, cycling from his home in Sanderstead. Immediately after the war Ruth Ellis was also a regular visitor.

Leave a comment