Tuesday 13 July 2021

Fishmonger Ron Fowler, Bookham, Surrey

Why am I posting a picture of me, taken in 2008, with Ron Fowler the fishmonger in our village, on 13 July 2021, the 66th anniversary of Ruth Ellis’s death?

Because it was Ron, in 2000, who told me about his connection to Muriel Jakubait, Ruth Ellis’s sister, and his passion for the story of the last woman hanged in the UK. And it was Ron’s passion for the subject that started my 21-year quest to find the truth about Ruth Ellis.

The photo, by the way, was one of a number commissioned by the charity Changing Faces for an article to be published in 2008 in one of their newsletters and on their website.It was a chance for me to tell people a bit about my life after Bells Palsy and give others with the condition, some inspiration.

Leave a comment