LADY GODIVA RIDES AGAIN

‘LADY GODIVA RIDES AGAIN’
The 1951 black and white film in which Ruth Ellis made a brief uncredited appearance will be on tv on Saturday 4th January 2020. I believe it will be shown twice during the day but I don’t as yet have the exact times. One is at 7pm on channel 81.To be the writer who was responsible for finding this secret piece of information about Ruth Ellis’s short life made me a very proud person! The findings came about by chance. When originally interviewing Ruth’s sister Muriel Jakubait, she mentioned briefly that Ruth knew the actress Diana Dors. At that time, it was around 2003, there was no published evidence to back up Muriel’s statement. All Muriel remembered was that Ruth had told her mother about her friend Diana Dors, and that was that. And that’s where my work as a researcher went into full throttle! I read as many books about DD as I could get my hands on, some coming from old library archives outside Surrey. The year 1951 featured in her books, and the film Lady Godiva Rides Again in which she, Diana, had a star role, got a good mention. I had a hunch and contacted Getty Images who have most of the stills from the film. They said they would send some paper copies to me. Over I went to Horsell where Muriel lived, armed with a small pile of photographs. Muriel was amazed to see her sister in two of the photos. It was a very special moment in the research for our book RUTH ELLIS MY SISTER’S SECRET LIFE. Ruth Ellis’s appearance in the film was previously unknown.

ps…Ruth is 6th on the left in the photo of beauty queens

pps. Having previously said you can’t see Ruth in the film, I’ve just found this clip. You can just make her out at 0.41 seconds into it!:

https://www.youtube.com/watch

Leave a comment